Come in spinner

signe-westerberg-headshotsfav-78-of-102-21I sat at the council meeting last night getting very frustrated when listening to the debate about borrowings and watching the disingenuous behaviour of councillors with the majority push through all and sundry whilst going through the pretence of listening to opposing arguments.

Why I got frustrated:   2 years or so ago Council sought and got a 9% rate increase to avoid borrowing money to achieve infrastructure backlog work. This rate increase affected quite a number of our residents and is due to expire in 2014. Council is now seeking to approve a 6+ million dollars loan for infrastructure to add to the already approved $9.65m borrowed at a budget time (whilst they come with a reduced interest rate they are debt)…I say come in spinner we’re being taken for a fiscal ride. It is appropriate to want to fix roads etc…but I don’t like being BS’d to… and I really don’t like being taken as fools.

If you read back through my posts you’ll see past comments -I recall jokingly asking for a similar personal debt.  (that being one that wasn’t counted as a debt lol)

I also remember sharing fmr Cllr Lucas grand-standing another rate increase would be sought from residents, when the present one expired and that he said it was absolutely necessary.

Don`t get me wrong I`m the first to whine about the infrastructure backlog…I Get It! I do understand.

However why we are planning an enormous multimillion dollar community centre and library when we have such an enormous back log of work to be done is beyond me. I do understand the need and desire to have a well equipped library closer to the growth centres, I do, I just don’t know how it is justified when we are so very, very behind ($250M + ) on basic road maintenance and upkeep of existing facilities etc.

I also wish more of the community cared enough to notice when we are being played for fools…I don’t like it…and I do pay attention, however I am often a lone voice and those few who do attend rarely comment publically. What is possibly worse is that at least 4 of the councillors wouldn’t have any idea about past promises or commitments because they weren’t involved in any way prior to their election…(that in itself is a whole different topic or post)

It is said you get what you deserve at election times…well I don’t deserve this and I don’t think the community does either.

I guess what is also embarrassing is the laughing at the behaviour of our councillors by some of the “Suits” sitting behind me, they seemed aghast at many of the comments.

Council did provide a nice supper for the end of the meeting and it did finish earlier than usual, I caught up with some of the staff and headed off before the in confidence items were done,  waiting around to hear no result seemed a little futile at such a busy time of year.

Council is also hosting a business people and special guest soirée on the balcony outside my office tonight in celebration of Christmas – I’m sure they will enjoy that and there are events being publicised for New Year etc so watch out for them in coming weeks.

This is likely my last post for 2012 (no promises but likely) and I’d like to take this opportunity to wish you and yours a very merry Christmas and a happy healthy New Year. Stay safe, drive carefully and I hope you get to spend special time with those you love and cherish.

By all means comment, I will check in from time to time, but am taking a few days off to spend with my family after what has been a busy year. I look forward to working with you all in 2013, we have a big year ahead of us, we need to get a better voice regarding the intermodal, we NEED to say NO to CSG and the dumping of toxic waste in our Local government area. We need to fight for the rights of our citizens and we have an election that could change the face of this whole country. We need you to be involved, be outspoken and be on board… I will be seeking your help on many issues in 2013 and I am looking forward to working with you again.

Christmas treeMerry Christmas one and all, enjoy the break.

Signe

 ps I didn’t mention the councillors are also looking to invite the Premier to hold a community cabinet in Liverpool, you might want to watch out for that in the new year. I will let you know if and when I find out more.

2 Responses to Come in spinner

  1. Ursula says:

    Happy Holidays!

    Enjoy a well-deserved rest. 🙂

    • Signe says:

      Thanks Ursula, hope you both get some down time and enjoy your lovely new home…or better still some new guests for the B & B. 🙂

Leave a Reply

