Full Agenda

Tonight’s council meeting is as always pretty full… there are a number of things of interest, however the one I feel has the greater community a little aghast is the I-pads for councillors.  I do hope reason overtakes in their deliberations and that instead of making I-pads available to each councillor it becomes an either or situation. As a ratepayer I have no objection to councillors being reimbursed for costs incurred and basic access to laptops or computers etc… I do however believe it should be: either a Laptop, desktop or an I-pad…I truly believe only one is necessary. Again it will be interesting to see how many of our councillors decide to attend the Local Govt Association of NSW annual conference, I’ve been commenting on this for years now and agree we should be represented, I still have serious concerns as to why we need 7 people attending, when some councils don’t see enough value to send even 1. I am still to date waiting to see if a report of what happens or doesn’t is to be tabled…Perhaps with an election due next year we may just see a full report. As to the proposal to suggest Australia Post takes responsibility for damage to grassed footpaths and trip liability… while I cannot see this gaining unilateral support for the motion if by some chance it did, I quickly see Aus Post refusing to deliver to any home not supplied with concrete footpaths…

Other interesting matters are that of the school of arts building development, the back dated payments for JRPP members   and the whole lot proposal for No 1 Hoxton Park Rd through to Memorial Avenue. The big win for rural residents in that another $120,000 is being added to the $127,000 refurbishment of the Greendale Rd Bringelly Hall… I’m hoping for the $247,000 this community centre is being used by lots and lots of local people… when I’m sure there are other centres who could benefit as much who don’t have any of the 127,000 already allocated.  I would have thought that $120,000 may well be directed to the proposed new Library the Rural residents are screaming out for or the upgrade of Miller.. alas that is on the list of matters to discuss also, along with Regan Park, DA delegations, and the financial impact to be sought from the Hoxton Park Resident Action Group. I was also delighted to read that many of my suggestions (&others) for the Cabramatta Creek Wetland POM were listened to and that investigations will be ongoing into the use of “roundup’ as I forwarded some very disturbing information out of the US and how it is being banned there because of potential  birth defects etc. As I said this is a full agenda and there are many other matters than those few I’ve mentioned here. Don’t’ forget it is now held at the Francis Greenway Centre on the south side of the Library at 7pm…Do come up and say hi…

Leave a Reply

