Liverpools birthday celebrations come to an end ;-(

A quick catch up on recent events:  I’ve been as always delighted to catch up with local people, perhaps the most fun recently has been the Family Bicentennial festival held two weekends ago. My family and I rocked up at a little after 3 and stayed to the finish around 8.30. My grandson who is my fun monitor suggested it was his best day ever, (although I was able to top it this last weekend on the harbour in a jet-boat). His view of the day was appreciated by many, all in all I estimated 20,000 plus people came and went throughout the afternoon. The venue was nicely divided into free and pay which worked out well for those on a budget and there was plenty happening most of the time. I saw three of our councillors and families attended as did the Mayor & the Toda guests and from what I could see they all too had a good time. It was a lovely end to a pretty ordinary bicentennial year. This year has been overshadowed by too many negative events and sadly not enough Bicentennial stuff to capitalise and promote us through the year. However with all the negatives and very few dollars in the bank there were some outstanding community activities to LCC’s credit. The open air cinemas, the Australia Day festival, some of the rebranded annual events and of course the Bicentennial family event on the 7th November. It may not have been a year to capture the attention of the state but there have been some good family friendly events so many thanks to the staff of council who on the whole manned and organised the events.

I have family here at present from overseas and as many of you would appreciate there is little time when wanting to show them around but in Liverpool we have a few things happening worthy of an overseas visitor and the Macquarie display at the Library took their attention as did the festival at Casula Power house. When you work, fitting in all those different events is easier said than done and my guests are used to exploring Liverpool and surrounds on their own and it is interesting experiencing your city through their eyes.  The difference this time as this is the 7th annual visit is that they are experience wet…rain as hasn’t been the norm over the last 7years and they are liking the Green and not so, the humid.

To my friends at the Forums I wish you all well for Christmas, as mentioned o’seas guests prevent me attending the last two forums of the year. May I suggest that any of my readers who haven’t attended a forum pencil it into their diary in February; you are most welcome and will enjoy spending time with community involved residents just as I do.

With the upcoming March election I expect I’ll be seeing you sometime soon on a veranda in Liverpool, I love this part of campaigning, talking with the residents, hearing and seeing firsthand what they envision for our fabulous area

Leave a Reply

